The best thing I do

“It’s the best thing I do. My name is Stephanie Nielson and I am a mother.”

You know how every once in while comes someone or something that inspires you? Or something that makes you feel absolutely small? I had that feeling today. No, I had both those feelings today as I chanced upon the NieNieDialogues while reading a post on Design Mom.

NieNieDialogues is a blog by Stephanie Aurora Clark Nielson, an airplane crash survivor with 80% body burns, who will probably have surgeries for the rest of her  life. Amidst her painful recovery, she tries to lead a happy life with her family of seven, writes blogs and has just written a book, Heaven Is Here.

Reading her posts about everyday life and watching her videos is like getting holes punched all over me. I’m leaking emotions. I’m sad about what happened to her, I’m amazed at her strength and courage, I’m in awe of her and I hope desperately that she gets better with each passing day. Also, my problems don’t seem so big anymore, the opportunities to realise my dreams seem infinite and yet again I’m grateful about the life I have and the people in it.

As I get ready to close the NieNieDialogues, I watch a video of what it means to Stephanie to be a mother. She says:

“For as long as I remember, I’ve always wanted to be a mother. It fulfils me in ways nothing else can. It’s often chaotic and very very hard. It is the best thing I do. My name is Stephanie Nielson and I am a mother.”

It gets me thinking: My life is a gift. Am I building my life around what I do best?

I hope so…I’m getting there. What about you?

3 thoughts on “The best thing I do

  1. Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for my Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great Independence Day!

  2. Thanks for this beautiful post, Sarita. It was wonderful sharing a piece of Stephanie’s life and positivity. Along with life, all of us have been gifted with something. It is up to us to discover what that gift is and to use that to bring joy to ours and others. That is the only way we can say thanks to the greatest gift of all–every glorious moment of life.

    • Absolutely. You just echoed my thoughts. Everyone has some gift and life gives us several opportunities to make the most of it. And people like Stephanie serve as wonderful inspiration.

Share your comments

