The simple, everyday people

Who are these people? They are the gifts that life, in all its wisdom, bestows on us.

A family that elicits in you a warm, fuzzy, safe harbour kind of feeling; friends who’ve seen you happy, sad, scared, grave and silly and love you all the same; teachers who indelibly shape our lives and mentors and coaches who chisel out better versions of ourselves with each passing day. They are the simple, everyday people who ironically don’t expect to be thanked.

I recently had the opportunity to write letters to just this kind of people.

I chose the letter to show my appreciation and heartfelt joy at having them in my life. The thing with letters is you can convey emotions and feelings you probably never could in a face to face conversation. It swallows distances in a jiffy and stays back as a memoir of your emotions, your feelings, your intentions.

My first set of letters, prompted by my move from India to Denmark, was to my sisters. On handmade paper, in the neatest handwriting possible (notice how it takes a while to get used to writing without any errors when your fingers are accustomed to typing and your brain is relying on spell checks) I wrote what they mean to me and what I love about them. In effect everything I always thought I would say to them but was too shy to do so in person. Somehow, my letters and the subsequent responses have brought us closer than ever before.

The second, more recent one, was an email to one of my teachers from school. It was her birthday and I was just glad she was born to be my teacher. I credit her to a great extent my love for reading and writing and my career as a communicator. Impulsively, I wrote to her thanking her for playing a part (to perfection) in who I am today.

The third one, also an email, was to a lost friend…that sadly remains unanswered.

But I live in hope and will continue to write letters to show my appreciation for the gifts in my life.

2 thoughts on “The simple, everyday people

  1. I admire your courage in choosing to write letters the old-fashioned way. Only great love can inspire such courage. There was a time when an old uncle used to write long letters to us. Each letter would cover the latest about every member of the extended family. I could never connect with most of the people he used to write about. But, in every letter, I saw him folding his umbrella that shielded him from the sun, opening the gate and walking in, smiling. I heard his voice. It was as if he sent a bit of himself in every letter. Your sisters would truly cherish your gift.

    • Thanks. I’m a bit old fashioned myself when it comes to certain things:-) I personally like the initimacy of a letter and the whole experience of reading one. Like you said there’s a bit of the sender in each letter.

Share your comments

