A little bit of India

I like to share a little bit of India when I meet people living in other countries.

So, when I moved from India to Denmark early this year, I carried a small bag of gifts with me. They were typically Indian: a beautiful pair of jhumkas (earrings), an ethnic cloth purse, a handmade diary, bookmarks and a couple of other things. Happily for me, I found the perfect recipients for most of them.

As my goodie bag has begun to shrink, I thought it was time to look for stores that sold Indian products.  Fortunately for me, I don’t have to make a trip to India for this (though I would happily fly back in a jiffy!). There are some wonderful stores that sell Indian products online.

Here is my list of current favourites that have the distinct Indian touch and make for good gifts.

The great Indian story

Know someone who likes India and wants to know more about this marvellously diverse country? Enter ‘the great Indian diary’ by Happily Unmarried (what a fun name for a store!). It is sure to enlighten them on the Indian obsession with Bollywood, cricket, culture, pet names and tigers among other things.

fun Indian stationery

Amazing yogi

Chumbak takes inspiration from India’s most famous export — yoga, with this cute little magnet. Bestow the ‘amazing yogi’ award on friends or anyone in the family who practices yoga. It is sure to find a place of pride on the refrigerator.

Indian yoga

Know a yogi with a flexible body?

Let there be light

Just couldn’t resist these. These are perfect for lighting up the home during Denmark’s cold, dark winters. Light them up and it will be, as the Danes say, meget hyggelig  or cosy as the rest of us say in simple English.

These bright and colourful tea light holders at Afday are inspired by the bharni, the traditional Indian pickle jars. But instead of ceramics, these are made of wood.

colourful tea light holders inspired by the Indian bharni

Simple and colourful…sure to brighten up any place

A candle in a bucket…simply adorable. I found these at Aniika.

a candle in a bucket

“Pick me up and light me bright”

Roll a coaster

This list would not be complete without something from my hometown Mumbai. And this set of Mumbai Scapes coasters by Playclan has it all…the Gateway of India, Marine Drive and the Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

Indian themed coasters

That’s Mumbai on your table

Move over men, this is for the ladies

Last but not the least, is something from India’s vibrant handicrafts industry…beautiful and intricate jewellery and one-of-a-kind purses.

While my personal eternal favourite is the jhumka, this set of earrings with polki, stones and pearls I found at Aniika makes for a beautiful gift too.

traditional Indian earrings

A traditional and beautiful pair of Indian earrings

A little bit of leather and a little bit of hand-woven fabric makes for a perfect blend of the traditional and the modern.  I found these at Matsya.

Indian handicraft purse

A blend of the modern with the traditional

Go on; get a little bit of India in your life.

5 thoughts on “A little bit of India

  1. Pingback: Independence day special: Indian gift wrapping | Ilovegifting

Share your comments

