Make It Personal: Gift a piece of pop art

Handmade. Handcrafted. Personalised. Customised. I love these words and the emotions they generate. To me they indicate that someone has spent time and effort, while putting in thought and skill to make something unique, something personal. That’s the thought behind the Make It Personal series.  Through this series I would like to share how to create fun, personalised and unique gifts. I’m excited to feature some very talented people who will share their ideas for making wonderful gifts in the coming weeks!

Make It Personal: Pop paintings

pop painting inspired by Roy Lichenstein

I’m happy to kick off the Make It Personal series with a guest post on  pop paintings from Dhana Nair.  Dhanu and I go back a long way. Friends since we were children, we shared an interest in the arts and crafts. My first brush with her artistic skills was through the beautiful, handmade cards I would get each year for my birthday. While her professional calling is bio chemistry, in her spare time she draws, paints, crotchets, knits and sews (whew! I have to ask her again why she doesn’t have an Etsy shop or at least a blog!)

Create your own pop painting

By Dhana Nair

When I moved to my new apartment, I was told that I could not paint the walls or drill nails in to the wall. This meant I needed more wall adornments, specifically light ones I could just hang with the Command 3M poster strips. Being just a few years out of graduate school meant I couldn’t purchase expensive artwork that I liked. However, I can draw and paint reasonably well, so I decided to create my own artwork. That’s how the idea of creating my own pop art came to me.

Over the years, these  pop paintings have not just adorned my apartment, but have also turned out to the perfect gift for many occasions.  They can be ideal gifts for house-warming parties and birthdays.

Materials you will need:

  • Canvas board – I used 8×10 inch canvas ($1.33 /piece)
  • Acrylic paints and brushes
  • A pencil and a foot ruler

materials needed for creating a personalised pop painting

The first thing I did was surf the web for a suitable image I liked. I love the Roy Lichtenstein form of bold pop art but didn’t really know the method to produce the “BenDay dots” required to make it  “Lichtensteinian” and so I stuck with the original picture that I found here.

I printed out the picture on regular printer paper and then using a ruler and pencil divided the picture into 1 inch x 1 inch squares. This breaks down the image to manageable pieces that  can be easily copied. I created a grid containing 1 inch x 1 inch squares on my canvas with pencil (very lightly) and then started transcribing each square from the picture to the canvas. This is the resulting image:

breaking a picture into squares

I then erased the grid lines with an eraser and just went to town using my acrylic paints and brushes to fill in the colours. I wanted to personalise it a bit so I also added a variation of what is thought to be a Swedish proverb “Love me when I least deserve it because that is when I really need it.”

personalising a painting with a quote

The next step was to find a way to hang the canvas since this does not have a hanger on the back or a wooden frame. So, I used a piece of string and taped it down with the Command 3 M poster strips like so.

hanging a painting with Command 3 M poster strips

Et voilà, here is my very own unique piece of pop art ready to be gifted!

hanging a personalised pop art painting inspired by ROY LICHTENSTEIN

10 thoughts on “Make It Personal: Gift a piece of pop art

  1. Pingback: Make it personal: Danish mini chest of drawers « Ilovegifting

  2. Hey there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  4. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as well
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just
    following you. Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  5. Pingback: Make It Personal: Gift a piece of pop art « Ilovegifting | The Art of Painting | Scoop.it

    • Thanks Anne. But the credit goes to the author of this guest post…my best friend Dhana Nair:-)

      It’s the first in my ‘Make It Personal Series’ that will have guest posts on making handmade, personalised gifts.

Share your comments

