A costume = fail safe kids gift

Fastelavn costume ideas

My daughter has a Fastelavn party at her kindergarten today.  Fastelavn is the Nordic Halloween and is celebrated in Denmark seven weeks before Easter Sunday.  Being my first since I came to Denmark, I didn’t realise until a few days ago that my daughter had to be dressed in a costume. While we don’t celebrate Halloween in India, no childhood is complete without having participated in a Fancy Dress competition at school where kids dress up in costumes and mouth funny dialogues.

What followed was a mad scramble which involved looking for costume ideas and DIY instructions online. I realised I didn’t have the time to make a costume myself, so I decided to do the next best thing. I looked at the clothes my daughter already had and hit upon the idea of dressing her up as a fairy . I teamed up a traditional Indian chaniya choli with a pair of wings, crown and wand that I bought from a store. Voila she was an Indian fairy or an Indisk Fe!

a fairy costume gift

Gift a fairy costume

Costumes as gifts for kids

That’s when I thought, wouldn’t a costume make a great gift for kids? Not only would  it be a very different children’s gift, it would be much appreciated and welcomed by both children and their parents. No more running around for costumes for the next Fastelavn, Halloween or Fancy Dress competition. Costumes can also be reused by different kids in the family. I’ve put together a few costume ideas that would make great gifts for kids.

Costumes for little girls

When it comes to little girls, you can’t really go wrong with a princess costume or fairy costume. I like that this one isn’t in the standard pink.

A princess-costume that isn't pink!

As a variation of the fairy costume, I love this butterfly costume.

Gift a butterfly costume

If you are looking for something that’s not so common, try this! Cotton candy…yummy!

cotton candy costume for halloweenn

Costumes for little boys

Like girls, there are 2-3 costumes for little boys that are fail proof. Go with any of the ‘mans’ — Spiderman, Superman or Batman. My favourite is this super strong Superman.

Gift a Superman costume

Or, how about Legoman for a change?

Lego man costume

Unisex costumes

I also love these costumes that are great gifts for both girls and boys. Perfect for babies.

adorable Spring chicken costume

adorable Tiger cub costume

P.S: Some of the images are from my Fancy Dress Costumes Pinterest board where you can find the original source — some of which have DIY instructions.

2 thoughts on “A costume = fail safe kids gift

  1. Pingback: Kids gifts: Halloween Costumes | Ilovegifting

  2. Nothing like finding out about cultural things at the last minute! Costumes are such a good idea for kids. There was some sort of birthday party in the common room in my building today and there had to be 20 little kids dressed up in costumes and absolutely loving it today.

Share your comments

